Beta

Inviting People and Managing Access

Sending Invites

After you create your data room, one of the first things you may want to do is invite other people. You can find the option to invite from two views: the menu accessible on the list of data rooms or within a specific data room itself.

Akord data room menu icon

The data room menu shown from the list of data rooms.

Within the invite screen you can enter the email address of the person you want to invite, and then set the permissions you want to give them. You can also invite several people at the same time.

If you invite someone as a Contributor they have all the core features need to contribute and collaborate: post encrypted memos, upload files, add new file versions, file rename, revoke files and request data. The features not available to Contributors are room level features that are only available to you as the data room owner, such as inviting people, renaming, archiving and disabling the data room.

If you invite someone with View only permissions, then they can only view the timeline and documents in the data room. They can also download files, as some files may not be able to viewed within the data room if their file type is not supported by the file viewer.

You can write a message that will be sent along with your invitation. This message is not encrypted, as we send it inside an email notification, so do not include any sensitive information within this message.

Akord invite permissions

The invite to room screen where you can add permissions and an invite message.

Accepting or Rejecting an Invite

If the data room in question has terms of access, then anyone you invite to the room will be sent an email with any message you sent and a link to first view the terms of access.

After clicking the link and entering their Akord login details, they will be presented with the terms of access to review. They must digitally sign these terms before they can enter the data room.

If the data doesn’t have any terms of access, then the person invited would be invited to view the invitation within Akord. And after clicking the link and entering their Akord login details, they simply be asked if they want to accept or decline the invitation.

Akord accepting terms

Accepting terms of access before entering a data room.

Managing Access

After you invite someone there are a number of situations where you may need to manage their access to the data room.

You may need to resend their invite if they can’t find the original invite, or revoke that invitation before it’s accepted for whatever reason.

After they accept the invite, you may want to change their permissions or remove them altogether from the data room.

All of these actions can be done from within the Manage access screen, which is located from the same menu as the Invite screen.

Akord Manage Access Screen

Manage access screen in Akord.

More documentation